Menu
Log in


New South Wales

The New South Wales branch of the Statistical Society of Australia implements within the state the overall objectives of the Society nationally as laid out in the branch's Rules and Regulations. These are:

■       To further the study and application of statistical theory and methods in all branches of learning and enterprise;

■       To be of assistance to members in the practice of their profession.


We endeavour to achieve these objectives through:

■       Professional development activities for members;

■       Fostering the training of young statisticians;

■       Encouraging communication among members by the holding of monthly meetings.


The Branch welcomes applications for membership from anyone with a bona fide involvement or interest in the field. 

To list your event, or for other questions, please email secretary.nswbranch@statsoc.org.au

Branch Council

The current (2020-21) New South Wales Branch Council of the Statistical Society of Australia is:

 President Dr. Thomas Fung (president.nswbranch@statsoc.org.au)  
 Vice-President  Prof. Jake Olivier (j.olivier@unsw.edu.au)
 Secretary Mr. Runze Alex Xu (runze.xu@outlook.com)
 Treasurer Dr. Boris Beranger (b.beranger@unsw.edu.au)
 Assistant Secretary Dr. Munir Hiabu (munir.hiabu@sydney.edu.au)
 Councillors Dr. Clara Grazian (c.grazian@unsw.edu.au
  Dr. Nicole De La Mata (nicole.delamata@sydney.edu.au
   Dr. Gordana Popovic (g.popovic@unsw.edu.au)
   Mr. Ardalan Mirzaei (ardalan.mirzaei@sydney.edu.au)
   Dr. Luca Maestrini (Luca.Maestrini@uts.edu.au)
 Workshop Organiser Dr. Mark Donoghoe (mark.donoghoe@mq.edu.au)
 Young Stats Representative Dr. Matias Quiroz (quiroz.matias@gmail.com)
 Membership Officer Dr. Munir Hiabu (munir.hiabu@sydney.edu.au)
 Newsletter Contact Prof. Matt Wand (matt.wand@uts.edu.au)
 Branch Website Administrators Dr. Nicole De La Mata (nicole.delamata@sydney.edu.au)
  Mr. Ardalan Mirzaei (ardalan.mirzaei@sydney.edu.au)

Click here to meet our past Branch Councillors.

Branch Meetings

The New South Wales branch of the Statistical Society of Australia holds monthly meetings in Sydney from March to November each year. Meetings commence around 6 pm with refreshments, followed by a presentation from a local or visiting speaker, and questions. Members are invited to join the speaker afterwards for dinner at a nearby restaurant. Visitors are welcome at all meetings.

Speakers are selected to provide a balance between theory and applications over a wide range of topics. In each year there will generally be at least one talk on each of the following areas: agricultural or environmental statistics, epidemiology, econometrics, surveys, statistics in education, and statistics in consulting and/or management.

Please note that all our events are governed by the code of conduct. This means that we absolutely do not tolerate unacceptable behaviour, including any form of harassment. This applies to both members and non-members. If you have any concerns, please contact Gordana (g.popovic@unsw.edu.au).

Major Branch Events

In addition to our regular Branch events, we hold an annual lecture series which presents the Lancaster Lecture and the Annual Lecture. These also include the JB Douglas Postgraduate Awards. 

Throughout the year, we hold statistical workshops for professional development. Please check our list of current and past workshops for more details.

NSW Calendar

There are various other statistical events held in nationally that may be of interest to our members. Please check our calendar event list for a comprehensive overview of other statistical events held in NSW and other states. 

Social Media

Please follow us on our social media accounts for updates on our Branch activities:




Join us


SSA is the home for professionals working in statistics. A place where you belong, connect with others, advance your career and feel inspired.

Our core purpose is to connect you with great people and great opportunities, so you can be successful in your current role and with your career aspirations.

Join now

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software